2018 Academic Research Colloquium
for Financial Planning and Related Disciplines

February 20–22, 2018
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Arlington, VA

Registration Opening Soon

The CFP Board Center for Financial Planning, in cooperation with Financial Planning Standards Council and Financial Planning Standards Board, is hosting the second annual Academic Research Colloquium for Financial Planning and Related Disciplines. This international meeting of researchers, practitioners, graduate students and leaders of financial planning practice is designed to be a forum to gather and share and provide a showcase for rigorous, relevant research within financial planning, as well as disciplines that directly or indirectly relate to the financial planning body of knowledge or financial planning practice.

The Academic Research Colloquium for Financial Planning and Related Disciplines will feature paper presentations; invited speakers; interviews for open financial planning faculty positions; and a special focus on poster/concurrent sessions for doctoral students within financial planning programs as well as related research areas.

Review the 2017 Academic Research Colloquium for Financial Planning and Related Disciplines »

Call for Papers

The review committee welcomes papers on the following topics that relate or indirectly relate to financial planning practice/financial planning body of knowledge:

      Retirement Planning
      Financial Management

      Insurance/Risk Management
      Estate Planning
      Communication and Counseling
      Behavioral finance
      Marriage and Family Therapy
      Consumer Finance
      Financial Planner Education/Pedagogy
      Financial Therapy
      Other topics related to financial planning

Proposals for panel discussions devoted to research areas that affect financial planning practice or financial planner education will also be considered for inclusion in the program.

Submission Process

Please submit your paper or abstract at https://hq.ssrn.com/conference=ARC-2018. You will be required to upload a blind copy of the PDF in addition to a regular copy containing author information. The cover page of the regular copy should contain the names, addresses, and institutional affiliations of all authors with one author listed as the primary contact person. The blind copy should not contain any author identifying information on the PDF itself. The cover page of both versions should also list whether the submission should be considered for a paper/poster presentation or panel discussion. Each submission will be reviewed anonymously by at least two peer reviewers. One author from each accepted paper must be registered for the conference prior to October 31, 2017. Papers already accepted for publication in a refereed journal will not be considered. It is expected that submitted abstracts result in completed papers before presentation at the colloquium. Authors of accepted papers will also be asked to serve as discussants for other papers.

Download the Call for Papers »

Abstract/Paper Submission Deadline: September 15, 2017

Best Paper Awards

There will be opportunities for both Best Paper Awards as well as Student Best Paper Awards. More information will be provided later in 2017 but before the final paper submission deadline.

Registration/Hotel Information

Information regarding Colloquium registration/Hotel information will be provided at a later date.



TD Ameritrade Institutional


TD Ameritrade Institutional


TD Ameritrade Institutional and the CFP Board are separate and unaffiliated and are not responsible for each other’s services or policies. TD Ameritrade Institutional is a division of TD Ameritrade, Inc., member FINRA/SIPC. TD Ameritrade is a trademark owned by TD Ameritrade IP Company, Inc. and The Toronto-Dominion Bank. © 2017 TD Ameritrade IP Company, Inc. All rights reserved. Used with permission.